Friday, December 02, 2005

USPS - The 2005 Commemorative Stamp Program

USPS - The 2005 Commemorative Stamp Program

American Scientists - McClintock, von Neumann, Feynman, Gibbs (4)

This issuance honors four American scientists: geneticist Barbara McClintock, mathematician John von Neumann, physicist Richard Feynman, and thermodynamicist Josiah Willard Gibbs.

For each stamp in this block of four, artist Victor Stabin created a collage featuring a portrait of the scientist and drawings that are associated with major contributions made by the scientist.

Text on the back of the stamps highlights their achievements.
Barbara McClintock (1902-1992) conducted maize plant research that led to her discovery of genetic transposition-the movement of genetic material within and between chromosomes. In 1983, this pioneering geneticist was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine.

John von Neumann (1903-1957) made significant contributions in both pure and applied mathematics, especially in the areas of quantum mechanics, game theory, computer theory and design. In 1956, the U.S. government presented the Enrico Fermi Award to this eminent mathematician.

Richard P. Feynman (1918-1988) developed a new formulation of quantum theory based, in part, on diagrams he invented to help him visualize the dynamics of atomic particles. In 1965, this noted theoretical physicist, enthusiastic educator and amateur artist was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics.

Josiah Willard Gibbs (1839-1903) formulated the modern system of thermodynamic analysis. For this and other extraordinary achievements, Gibbs received some of the most prestigious awards of his era, including the Rumford Prize from the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

No comments: